Mentoring…What is On My Heart Today

Hey there, Blooministas. I felt compelled tonight to write about the beauty of “mentoring.” Somehow, the timing of what’s come to pass in my life this week has intersected all around that topic. On Tuesday, I began co-facilitating a new mentoring study group online over at More to Be – a ministry that’s near and dear to my heart, and on that same day, I picked up the phone to call and catch up with my very own mentor, a woman who has walked with me through all kinds of life circumstances for the past 10+ years or so. Unfortunately, that day also turned out to be the day that I heard the news I’d been resisting hearing ~ my mentor’s health had taken a turn for the worse.

Wednesday and Thursday brought with it visits to my ailing mentor’s bedside, all the while I was posting on-line with a newly blossoming group of Mentors-In-Training about the importance of biblical mentoring in our freshly-launched study group.

Seeds Planted-Newly Blossoming Mentors

Seeds Planted-Newly Blossoming Mentors

Somehow, it felt bittersweet – not to mention I’d been reading through the end of Deuteronomy during my quiet time this week and found myself in the middle of Moses’ final sermon to the Israelites where he was proclaiming the blessings of following and God and the curses that would come if they chose to disobey.

Oh, the choices. Blessing or curse? Life or death? The pull of it all.

Tug and Pull

Tug and Pull

Then this evening, comes the phone call. My mentor has passed on to the next life.

I’m reminded of the seasons written about in Ecclesiastes.”There is a time for everything,

Time to Plant or Uproot?

Time to Plant or Uproot?

and a season for every activity under heaven: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot…” (Ecclesiastes 3:1-2, NIV)

More extremes. More tension. Beginnings and endings.

The Ying and the Yang

The Ying and the Yang

Or maybe I should instead say, “Beginnings and new beginnings?”

New Beginnings...

New Beginnings…

I read some more from our mentor study materials, and I think how blessed I have been to be on the receiving end of such a beautiful experience of mentor to mentoree! My friend and author Elisa Pulliam of More to Be writes, “The fact is that many women lack eyes to see the opportunity to mentor and miss noticing when they have been mentored by others.” Even in the midst of this pull of emotions, I am feeling ever so grateful to have noticed and known that, “Yes, I have been mentored and blessed in such a special way!” There was no great big platform for my sweet mentor to stand up and announce  her influence in my life. What she did was followed Christ distinctly and from that overflow of being filled up by Him, she was able to speak truth, life, and hope into my soul.

Speaking Hope Into My Soul

Speaking Hope Into My Soul

I finish out the evening with one more post to the new mentors-in-training online, marinating over the words that Elisa writes about mentors: “Women who offer counsel based on the wisdom founded in the Word. Women who provide encouragement through their thoughtful actions and critical times of support. The world might simply call them friends, but I call them my biblical mentors because these relationships span the generations, occur outside of the routines of life seasons, and are rooted in our shared faith in Jesus Christ as Lord.”

Yes, that was my Nancy indeed, and she’d want me to continue her legacy of mentoring, so tonight, that is what I try to do. In some small way. Even if it’s through only a short Facebook post to encourage new mentors-in-training.

Mentoring. It comes full circle for me tonight as I reflect on this circle of what we call life. Dear sweet Nancy, rest in peace. Here’s to newly blossomed beginnings, till we meet again….fresh blossom

About Lori Sammartino, Re-stARTist

Life Coach + Artist + Teacher = Re-stARTist Connecting faith, creativity, and daily life for soul-nourishing human flourishing!
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Life Hostessing, Sonlight Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mentoring…What is On My Heart Today

  1. Ann Fetterman says:

    I’m sorry! I know how she touched your life! I’m glad you got to spend some time with her this week. How is her husband, Bob, doing?

    Like

    • Thanks for the sweet sentiment. Everyone is managing. Bob knows how much she loved the Lord and how she’s with Him in His glorious presence now. Hope blossoms, even in the midst of current sorrows.

      Like

Leave a Reply

