From Plagues to Life Hostessing

Ten plagues in Egypt, and so many lessons for us to learn from them. Several of my recent posts have focused on the plagues, and still I find myself gleaning new insights from them all the time. This time, in Exodus 10, God’s Word tells about the plague of locusts, but the one word that caught my attention was “worship,” because it was repeated four times in just the first eleven verses alone. As I circled back to re-read those verses and dig deeper for meaning, I saw that as Moses asked Pharaoh to let God’s people go so that they could “worship” the Lord their God, he expressly mentioned that he wanted to go with “our young and old, with our sons and daughters, and with our flocks and herds, because we are to celebrate a festival to the Lord” (verse 9).

Women and Children? We will not leave them behind!

Women and Children? We will not leave them behin

Naturally, Pharaoh countered with a compromise offering for only the men to go, but that wasn’t met with success because clearly, God had never considered the worship of women and children as something that was optional.

And isn’t that encouraging to hear? I know for myself, I was blissfully giddy after reading that passage in the Bible. Sure, it’s not like I didn’t realize beforehand that God’s people have always included women and children, but to be reminded of it again in a fresh new way made my heart gleefully skip a beat. And it might just be related to a prompting that God has been gently pricking my heart with over the course of these past few months, perhaps trying to get my attention? Well, now I have to let Him know that I’m really, really listening! And I’d like to invite you to perk up your listening ears too and join me in thinking about this notion. It’s one I call “Life Hostessing.” I know. You’re thinking, “What’s Life Hostessing? What do you have to do to be a Life Hostess?”

I Am Life Hostess

I Am Life Hostess

And the answer? Basically, it’s nothing fancy dancy but it’s something that many of us women are equipped to do, especially those of us who find ourselves in the SAHM (stay at home mom) role or perhaps the role of new retiree, grandma…. And yes, it’s even applicable to the roles of friend, co-worker, aunt, neighbor…. The list could go on and on. Suffice it to say that Life Hostesses are those of us who want to ensure that no one, including women and children (thank you, God for that encouragement!!!), get left behind in this life, because we want to maximize the opportunities for living and bringing God glory as He grants them to us in each and every moment. Obviously, we can’t set out as Life Hostesses with a goal of saving the world in a day, but perhaps if we back it up and think of it on a smaller scale starting out, then maybe it’d become more doable. So humor me for a moment by asking yourself this question:

What would it look like if you woke up each morning celebrating the gift of a new day and then committed yourself to showing up in it, all day long right where you are, as you are, being fully who you are and serving to the best of your ability the people who God sends to your proverbial table of life?

I love that mindset and that visual image, maybe because I can see myself flitting all around in one of those colorful, foo-foo fabric aprons taking care of my guests as they’re able to sit and relax and enjoy themselves around my beautifully appointed shabby chic cottage style farmhouse dining table?

Dressed and Ready for Life Hostessing

Dressed and Ready for Life Hostessing

Come, Sit Around My Table!

Come, Sit Around My Table!

(Oops, hope I didn’t lose you there for a minute while I danced around inside my head. Sorry. That was a quick Life Hostess Table for One Minute, but I’m back)!

And I must thank the abundantly talented author Emily Freeman whose book, A Million Little Ways, that I read last summer also got me thinking about this concept of living fully in the moment, showing up and serving at this so-called “table”, and uncovering the art of one’s life. If you haven’t read it yet, I’d highly recommend checking it out by visiting her website here at Chatting at the Sky. Chock full of good, good stuff for one’s soul! 

I’ve only shared the Life Hostess notion with a few select people to date, but here and now seemed like the right place and time to let it loose, given the topic of Moses making sure not to leave the women and children behind in Egypt. If God’s plan has always included women and children and those who might not be able to “go it alone,” then by golly, we gals can join Him in this effort to be welcoming and inclusive to those whom He places in our daily path, right?

I’ll have more to share about Life Hostessing in the days and weeks ahead, but for now, I hope you’ll ask God about how He might be able to give you a fresh set of eyes to see new opportunities, even in the usual and mundane, as you begin to approach your days from here on out with a Life Hostessing mentality. Grab yourself a pair of Life Hostess glasses (rhinestone studded or maybe something less blingy – what’s your style?),

Got your Life Hostess Eyewear Ready?

Got your Life Hostess Eyewear Ready?

and run to the table, ready to serve, girlies! I’d love to meet you there.

About Lori Sammartino, Re-stARTist

Life Coach + Artist + Teacher = Re-stARTist Connecting faith, creativity, and daily life for soul-nourishing human flourishing!
This entry was posted in BSF, Sonlight Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

