T-shirts Transformed into Legacy Memorabilia

So if you know anything about me, you know how much I love transformation and anything that has to do with it; thus, my interest in life coaching, inspiration, repurposing, etc. Well, last week, I finally got up the energy to practice some transformation of my own, taking it to a batch of old soccer t-shirts that I’d been saving, probably since my son (who is now 17) was about the age of 3??? No, I’m not a hoarder. Rather, I like to see myself as a “possibilitarian,” i.e. someone who sees the possibilities and great potential in all things! (And I’m not in denial in either)! Trust me, if anyone has referred to you as a “hoarder” before, you’ll want to try on this “possibilitarian” tag today and see how it fits. And please, let me know how it goes for you. I’ve really embraced it and find that it’s working just splendidly for me! Would love to hear how it goes for you too! Now, on to the transforming of t-shirts…

I’ve seen posts before about taking old t’s and making them into memory quilts, but those all looked a lil’ bit too complicated for this simple re-stARTist who likes to keep her projects quick and easy, so instead, I opted for making a memory scarf. Basically, I cut 11 inch square pieces Memory Scarf-Step 1from the front and back of each of the shirts, (I think 8 shirts for 16 pieces in total), and then I stitched 8 of them together. One side for the front of the scarf and the other 8 squares forming the backside of the scarf. Memory Scarf-Step 4Then, putting both long pieces right side to right side, I stitched around most of the outer edge, leaving a small section open to allow for turning the scarf right side up. Memory Scarf-Step 6 Memory Scarf-Step 7A Memory Scarf-Step 7B Memory Scarf-Step 7CMemory Scarf-Step 7AAfter turning it out properly, I stitched around the entire outer edge closing off the small opening and making a decorative edging for the border. 20141004_151208-1Voila! Quick and easy, and best of all great warmth physically and emotionally for this mama when she attends the current high school sporting events. Memory Scarf-FinishedAnd to all the people who thought  I was just “hoarding” my son’s old t-shirts year after year, see! Possibilitarian! That’s all I’m saying!

After I cut out those 11 inch squares, I realized that I had 16 sleeves left over on those old t’s, and as a re-stARTist, you know I couldn’t just toss those in the trash! So what to try next? Howzabout a ringlet scarf, made out of 16 sets of small t-shirt strips cut from the sleeves?Scarf from Sleeves Yup, worked out perfectly, except for the fact that I thought it could use a tad bit more embellishing. Scarf from Sleeves WrappedNo worries there! That’s what the bottom hem of those old t’s is for!

When I cut off the thick bottom hem, I noticed that I could twist and turn the strip around itself in a circular fashion to form a flower. Pretty nifty, huh? For one of the flowers, I kept flattening it as I twisted. With the other, I let it build itself up into a thicker, more dimensional version. On the back of each, I attached a circle of felt with hot glue along with a brooch/pin attachment (available at any jewelry section of your local craft store). 2014-10-04 15.54.16By adding these lil’ doo-hickey flower pins to the scarves, it was just enough pizzazz to dress it up a bit and I was satisfied enough to move on to yet another project involving the leftover scraps from the body sections of the old t’s. (I know. Can you believe it? There were still leftovers and more possibilities)!

The strips that remained after cutting out my 11 inch squares were just enough scrap material to continue cutting 3/4 inch strips straight across the body of the t, from one side to the other, creating a thin loop. Once I’d cut a pile of those loops, I began to stretch and pool them, one at a time, pretty much like a crazy lady. Spaghetti TShirt Scarf(A smidge of crazy is good when it comes to possibilities)! When the loops were longer and stretched out, I gathered them together, and wrapped them with another small scrap of t-shirt fabric, tying them together to create one complete band. And there you have it. A spaghetti scarf. Spaghetti Strap Scarf-LongOr double it up to make more of a spaghetti necklace. Spaghetti Strap Scarf-ShortDoesn’t it look cute with a flower pin to bedazzle it? Indeed!2014-10-04 17.22.42

Finally, since I was on a roll with the t-shirt projectology, I decided to keep it going one last time with this simple cutting craft. Snip, snip to the sleeves. Snip, snip around the bottom hem, and snip, snip to the neck. And you guessed it: tack on a few long t-shirt scrap strips to the back to serve as ties to help gather around your mid-section. (I took it an extra step and added another strip/scrap as a neck ruffle, just because I couldn’t bear to waste a t-shirt scrap, but you could forego that step and it’d still be just as cute). The finished product is a much more feminine version of sports t, don’t ya think? Feminine Sports TToo cute for the tailgate, girl!!!! And that’s a good thing.

Thanks for joining me here for this t-shirt transformation. Let me know if you try any of these at home or how you adapt yours to become pieces of legacy memorabilia for your family. Trust me, they’re all safe and low-key on the simplicity meter. Post some pictures of yours so we can compare notes from one possibilitarian to another! I’d like that, bunches!

About Lori Sammartino, Re-stARTist

Life Coach + Artist + Teacher = Re-stARTist Connecting faith, creativity, and daily life for soul-nourishing human flourishing!
This entry was posted in Crafting, Repurposing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to T-shirts Transformed into Legacy Memorabilia

  1. babzmal says:

    Wow-you have been busy!! Very cute stuff!

    Sent from my iPhone. Barb

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

