The Circumcision of My Heart Continues…

Love One Another Deeply

Love One Another Deeply

So I went to bed last night soon after writing the previous blog post on determining the state of one’s heart this Valentine’s Day, and for some reason I had trouble sleeping through the night. Instead of continuing to toss and turn, I decided to get up early and dig in to my Bible study for the day, and just like God had done many times before, he went and did again! He picked up right where we’d left off and continued leading me down the path more deeply into figuring out what it would mean to “circumcise” this ole heart of mine.

My study of Genesis led me to look up a passage in 1Peter, verses 22-25: “Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for your brothers, love one another deeply, from the heart. For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God. For, ’All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord stands forever.’ And this is the word that was preached to you.”

from the American Bible Society

from the American Bible Society

If I had had any question about how to start this process of circumcising my heart, there was the answer laid out for me plain as day in 1Peter: Obedience to God’s truth. That’s what would lead to purification of myself and thereby produce in me sincere brotherly love. From there, I’d be able to really pour out my love on others, deeply from the heart. And why would I want to do that???? Well, 1Peter had that answer too. Because of my desire to bring glory to the One who has promised me everlasting life, a life that will live on long after the flowers wither and fade, and that’s a promise worth living for! As a matter of fact, that’s the one promise I can be sure to anchor my life on since nothing else but the Lord can guarantee that by following Him, my life will blossom and bloom into everlasting being! Amen to that, sisters? That being said, may I encourage you to keep on pushing through the painful task of your heart circumcision? Or maybe we should call it a heart “bloom-cision” instead? That just sounds a lil’ more “flowery” and perhaps would make for a sweeter sentiment on that Valentine’s encouragement card you’re thinking about sending to a friend? Whatcha think? Lemme know in the comments. I’d love to hear about your “bloom-cision” progress and support you in the journey.

from For the Love of Homes and Gardens

from For the Love of Homes and Gardens

About Lori Sammartino, Re-stARTist

Life Coach + Artist + Teacher = Re-stARTist Connecting faith, creativity, and daily life for soul-nourishing human flourishing!
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

