A New Slant on the Full Armor of God

Running Backwards from Temptation

A New Twist on the Old Armor

Most of us are familiar with the verse from Ephesians 6:11 that says, “Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes”(NIV), but I heard a new take on it the other day that painted such a strong image in my mind, I just had to share it with you. So here goes: it’s the old armor with a newly recrafted twist!

Picture yourself standing, covered head to toe, with God’s armor fully protecting the entire front side of your body. In this situation, you’re able to plant your feet and stand firmly, just as God’s word instructs, to fight your spiritual battles head on. So far, so good. Right? Well, here’s where the new twist comes in. Someone challenged how this description in essence leaves one with an “armor-less” back. That being the case, you would need to be extra careful to never turn your unprotected back toward Satan. Otherwise, you’d end up falling prey to Satan’s arrows stabbing you in the back with a wide-open shot. “So much for running away from temptation,” I thought to myself. “Isn’t that what we were always told to do?”

Well, “Not no more,” I say. From now on, instead of turning my back and running away from Satan, I’ve decided that a better course of action would be to remain facing forward and instead, run backwards from temptation! With that being said, I’m outta here. I’m going to work on that old notion of developing “eyes in the back of my head.” In the meanwhile, if you should see me coming, you might wanna clear my path. Not so sure I’m gonna be able to master the art of running backwards as quickly as I’d like!

About Lori Sammartino, Re-stARTist

Life Coach + Artist + Teacher = Re-stARTist Connecting faith, creativity, and daily life for soul-nourishing human flourishing!
This entry was posted in Sonlight Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

